Age in the Swinger Lifestyle

Some Thoughts from Mrs. Jones

Mr. & Mrs. Jones
3 min readJul 23, 2023
Image from Pexels

In some respects getting older sucks. Things start to hurt when we bend a certain way. There are permanent ‘laugh lines’ on our faces. And it takes a lot more effort to stay in shape and feel fit than it used to.

But not everything about getting older is bad.

Being older is actually pretty liberating in many ways. I love the fact that my kids are grown and are successfully making their way in the world without me needing to hold their hand. I love having grandchildren and being able to spend time with them without needing to keep track of their overcrowded schedules and everyday needs.

And lots of new and exciting things can happen as we get older. Point in case: I was turning 50 right about the time Mr. Jones and I started out in the swinger lifestyle. Yes. You read that right. And we’ve been at it for almost ten years now, only getting better each year.

Being a 50+ swinger is fabulous because Mr. Jones and I now have more time to focus on our health, and even better, on nurturing our sex lives.

I think I can still hold my own in the bedroom in comparison to my younger female friends. And let’s face it, we ladies that have been around a while have had lots of practice in the bedroom. That experience brings confidence, and confidence is sexy.

Even though my body demands a little bit more exercise, a healthier diet, and a more expensive skin care regimen than it used to, it still knows how to have sexy fun!

Be Careful of Using Age to Rule Out Play Partners

It makes me sad when lifestyle events are advertised for only younger people. Sometimes Mr. Jones and I are accidentally invited to them. It does hurt a bit when we have to decline, saying that we don’t fit in the specified age range. And I’m not gonna lie, I can be a little bitter about it. I was complaining about this form of age discrimination to a friend and his take on this topic went like this: “Strive to be the ‘best in class’ for your age range, no matter what that range is. Every age group is full of sexy people.”

To be fair, I have to confess that I used to discriminate based on age too. When we were new at swinging, I would meet younger couples in the lifestyle would say, “No way, they are almost young enough to be our kids!” What I’ve learned over the years, though, is that age and chemistry are not necessarily correlated. I’ve had to reconsider my bias against connecting and playing with younger couples.

There are couples in their 30s that have such solid relationships and are so interesting to talk to that I quickly forget how young they are compared to us. Many times now, Mr. Jones and I have experienced amazing play sessions with couples a lot younger than we are. Conversely, some couples our own age are a hot mess and offer nothing interesting to us. Being around the same age definitely doesn’t guarantee a 4-way connection that leads to play.

I’m not trying to say that everyone in their 30s needs to hook up with couples that are older and vice versa. Chemistry is chemistry, and if it’s not there then everyone needs to move along.

I just want all of us to remember this:

As you meet people in the lifestyle, be curious about the whole person, and don’t make hasty judgments based on a number. Keep an eye out for the “best in class” so you don’t miss out on some great and sexy friendships!

We are Mr. & Mrs. Jones, swinger lifestyle podcasters. If you like what you read here and want to learn more about the swinger lifestyle and/or We Gotta Thing, you can find our podcast episodes and much more at WeGottaThing.com.

--

--

Mr. & Mrs. Jones

We are swinger lifestyle podcasters and we gotta thing going on! Care to join us? WeGottaThing.com